Is the Party Over?

Effective at midnight, certain types of light-bulbs will be against the law. 100-watt incandescent light-bulbs are the first to be phased out due to a miserably wretched piece of legislation passed in 2007.  It’s true that Republicans managed to place a provision into a recent bill that would de-fund enforcement through September 2012, but the fact is that most manufacturers and retailers will comply, not wishing to risk being outside the law.  That’s right: 100 watt incandescent bulbs of the sort we’ve been using for decades are going away, and if you don’t like it, you can thank the Democrat Congress of 2007 and and of course President George W. Bush, the “compassionate conservative” who signed this idiocy into law.  Hurrah for compassion! Hurrah for government regulation! Hurrah for George W. Bush!  If you’re not happy about this, you’ve got just a few more hours depending on your timezone.

Many Americans like me find compact florescent bulbs to be problematic.  They contain toxic mercury, and there is already talk about disposal issues, never mind the problems you might have if you break one.  They’re expensive, and in truth, despite the hype, they don’t last any longer, and I’ve encountered a number of these with defects. In addition, they drive my pets insane, because apparently they emit high-frequency noise that I cannot hear, but they can.  We’ve gotten rid of every one of these from our home, since we have no desire to torture our pets.  More problematic, the light they produce is in a wavelength that bothers my eyes, and seems to trigger migraine headaches.  Of course, why would the Democrat Congress of 2007 or the compassionate George W. Bush care about that?  No, they don’t understand that while I don’t mind if others wish to have these compact florescent bulbs, but they shouldn’t mind either if I retain the choice to pay the few pennies more in electricity bills in exchange for avoiding all the troubles they inflict in my own home and life.

The other alternative is the LED bulbs, but they’re outrageously expensive, and I’ve not figured out how to finance a house-full of them.  Perhaps a second mortgage?  The other problem is that my only experience with them is not a good deal more positive in terms of the light emitted, but I’ve decided that as a practical matter, I have no intention of being an early adopter of the technology because it’s fantastically outside my budgetary constraints.  Of course, neither the Democrat Congress of 2007-2011 was the least bit worried about budgetary constraints as shown by the growth of our federal budget, and it doesn’t seem that either the compassionately conservative Mr. Bush or the fantastically radical Mr. Obama had any concerns about the effects of this law on working stiffs.

It is for this reason that I have decided not to participate in this ban, and in order to do so, I’ve been stock-piling.  At an average usage of one bulb per month, I now have enough to last should I live to be 100 years old.  (I won’t last that long, of course, but I want to have some put back for my heirs.)   My message to the Democrat Congress of 2007-2011 and to Presidents Bush and Obama is simply: “You’re not the boss of me.”

Of course, the thoughtful will have noticed that there exists no similar measure one can adopt to protect one’s future health-care from the mandate that will be Obamacare, at least not for working stiffs.  Fortunately for them, neither the Democrat Congress of 2010 nor President Obama will suffer those limitations. After all, they have you to pay their bills, light their corridors, and dispose of their toxic bulbs.

Hurry on down to your local big-box store and buy up such 100-watt bulbs as you can still find.  They’re going away, and you have nothing but the compassion of big government liberals of both parties to thank!

Happy New Year!

