Newt's Turn

It seems as though this is the new method for destroying Republican front-runners this year. Once again, we have an The Daily Caller leveling accusations of adulterous conduct, this time against Newt Gingrich.  Once again, it is another “he-said, she-said,” and it’s not even a new allegation.  This is the same website that couldn’t wait to tell us about the ridiculous statements of Mike Tyson on the subject of Sarah Palin earlier this year.  Once again, we are faced with a story that provides no substantiation apart from the fact that the woman first made the allegations nearly two decades ago, a decade-and-one-half after the alleged conduct.  This accuser, Anne Manning, provides that she performed oral sex on Newt Gingrich, then still married to his first wife.  That’s it then!  It’s time for Newt to lose his lead, right?  That’s the formula, isn’t it?  Well, isn’t it?

As my readers know, I have chosen no candidate thus far, since the one I favored has chosen not to run.  To me, this isn’t merely about the election any longer, but about who is going to dominate the choosing.  Will it be the media?  Will it be voters?  This is another instance in which I will suggest to readers that until you have some substantiation, you may wish to discount the woman’s story. Another thing is that this woman’s story resurfaces, when it would be most damaging, to repeat her claims, but through the entirety of the article, nowhere do they seem to question Ms. Manning’s motives or veracity.  More, I have a question, and it’s probably going to get me in a little trouble with some, but let’s imagine this story is true.  Let’s imagine every word Ms. Manning is alleging is the absolute truth.  As we stand in judgment of Gingrich for this alleged transgression, what are we to make of Ms. Manning? She said:

“He always talks about being big on family values but he doesn’t practice what he preaches,” Manning said, according to London’s Daily Mail newspaper. “I wasn’t planning to say a word about him, but voters need to know what sort of man they’re being asked to support.”

Does Ms. Manning believe this will gain her some credibility or celebrity?  If this were true, what does it tell us about her?  She is purported to have been married at the time, as well.  You must forgive me, ladies and gentlemen, as I don’t understand what possible value this woman could offer other than to permit herself to be used to destroy Gingrich.  Maybe she’s lying, and maybe she’s not, but I don’t understand what her motive could be other than a few more moments of fame.

I also don’t understand the Daily Caller or the Daily Mail bringing this story up again.  It’s not new, and it’s not news, but since Gingrich is now the front-runner, I suspect that’s all the reason they needed.  The Daily Caller has certainly done more on less in the past. It’s time to consider not merely the accusations, but the people who are leveling them, or more properly in this case, who are bringing them up[again.]  Gingrich has already spoken to his earlier failings, and this simply looks timed to hit Newt and hit him hard.  I’m certainly not excusing Gingrich’s behavior in any case, but this all seems even more contrived than usual. The Daily Caller article also uses the occasion to take several other slaps at Gingrich, so I suspect this is more a matter of opportunism on their part.

The media is now so thoroughly bankrupt, so biased, and so determined to drive the process that I’ve lost patience for the lot of them.  Sure, I want to know about candidates’ moral failings, but I really don’t need the salacious details, and I particularly don’t understand the necessity of re-introducing a story that’s been floating around the Internet for more than a decade, except for the timing.  I suppose when all else fails to clobber a candidate, what you do is drag out some story of sex and sleaze and hope that it sticks.  I’ve seen this one.  It’s a re-run, same as it ever was.  Can we talk about tax reform?  Sex.  Can we talk about entitlement reform?  Sex.  Can we talk about the weather?  Sex. It’s obviously the answer to every question. It’s not that I don’t want to examine the candidates. It’s not that I don’t want to know their records or their past troubles, because they can tell us things about their future troubles, but let’s be honest: This isn’t about telling us the truth about Newt Gingrich.  Everybody who had any interest in knowing about Ms. Manning’s allegations has had decades to discover them.  If this was about anything other than the politics of personal destruction, this would have been brought out [again] before he was a front-runner.

I’m still considering all of the candidates.  Feel free to watch the latest media circus while Barack Obama continues his campaign to destroy the country.  I’m going to keep track of that.  I just want my country back.  When will the Daily Caller cover that?

