An Example to Emulate

Since yesterday’s announcement on the Mark Levin show, there has been a good deal of discussion over what sort of role Governor Palin will play going forward.  As ever, that decision is entirely up to her, and if it’s to be as an outsider, participating in a grass-roots charge as one of our decidedly stronger voices, I will satisfy myself with that.  I realize that by supporting her in that end, it doesn’t mean I will always agree with her on every issue or every race, but because she’s been such a powerfully consistent voice, I will always tend to give her opinion more weight than those of most others.  For the same reasons that she has said about how this will ultimately unshackle her, what Sarah Palin has done also liberates me.

My goal now turns to one not at all dis-similar from what Sarah Palin has offered:  I am and always have been most interested in restoring our nation, and indeed, it has been her devotion to that goal that attracted me to Governor Palin.  As she embarks again on this unconventional form of battle, where she seeks political results without seeking political office, I still see in her a force for an amazing potential benefit to our nation, and frankly, given the way things have been going, we need every ally in the struggle we can find.  Sarah Palin remains one of the most powerful advocates we will find.

One of the points Governor Palin has repeatedly made is that one can be a powerful voice without seeking high office in large measure because it is liberating to take one’s message to the people without the constraints within which a candidate must frequently live.  I understand this sentiment too, because frankly, now that Governor Palin isn’t going to run, I feel more at ease speaking frankly about my positions on various issues knowing that nobody will try to paint her with my views on issues by the mere association of my support for her.  You’ve seen this done to candidates before: The media finds one supporter who holds a particular position, and the media goes through twist of knives and leaps of logic to associate the candidates with those views.  Yes, it’s entirely unfair, but as you and I both know, the media is scarcely concerned with fairness.

Let me give you an example: I am of the view that Barack Obama’s actions on a variety of issues makes him eligible to impeachment, but I would not want to state that position so bluntly if Sarah Palin had decided to enter the race, not because I believe it any less, but because I know how the ideas of supporters are frequently turned upon the candidates they support as if it had been the candidate’s own position.  It happens constantly, and I didn’t wish to cause Governor Palin that kind of grief, whether she agreed in principle with my thinking or not.  Why wouldn’t you say it if you believe it?  The answer is simply that we have a large segment of people eligible to vote who might be fence-sitters, or less than clear on the issues at hand, and might be driven off by what the media will inevitably paint as a “fringe idea.”  That’s a minefield into which Michele Bachmann has now repeatedly blundered.  It makes great stump speech red meat, but in truth it tends to hurt more than it helps in our current media environment.

Now Sarah Palin is unshackled, but guess what?  So are you and I.  I have no intention of jumping on any bandwagon of any of the remaining candidates precisely because I want to see what happens going forward with each of them.  I supported a Sarah Palin candidacy because I had agreed with enough of her core principles that she was an excellent representative of my beliefs, and I haven’t gone elsewhere because I’m waiting for some indication that one of these candidates will meet the same criteria, but to simply turn my support on the spur of the moment because Palin is not running would be to betray the ideals she had repeatedly explained about her views and positions on how we must thoroughly inspect and vet each of these candidates.

I agree with that sentiment, and I will continue to do so.  I’m not inclined at this point to throw my support behind any of them, each having demonstrated sufficient reasons for caution.  Instead, I’m going to keep my powder dry, no longer in expectation of a Pain candidacy, but instead because when the time comes for me to choose, since I believe it will be among lesser candidates than the one I’d have chosen, I need to exercise more care and caution in making my final choice.

That’s how I view this, and as I enter my fortieth consecutive hour without sleep, I suppose I shall leave it there, but tomorrow, expect to read a bit more about some of the ideas I’ll be discussing with the goal of restoring our nation firmly in mind.

