What does it mean?

I don’t know how he could say it any more plainly.  He was so adamant in his statements today that it seems there could be no way he would change his mind.  A few are clearly disappointed, particularly in the media, and they’ve already run off in pursuit of a new victim.  The media loves to gin up candidates, and then chew them up and spit them out.  Sarah Palin’s right about this, and I’ve said it before:  The media is playing what she calls “flavor of the week,” and I’ve called “savior of the month,”  all with the goal of crushing any candidate the Republican party might put up.  The goal is to wind up with the most liberal Republican possible, amenable to the media if their own guy should blow it, and tolerable to the GOP establishment.  While they push Herman Cain for the moment, we all know how this will likely end: Even if he somehow were to overcome Romney in the long run, and win the nomination, the media will act to destroy Cain too.  This is why the Republican party must nominate somebody who has been vetted already.  The media will save its most lethal ammunition, to be deployed in the general election.

Within minutes of the beginning of Chris Christie’s press conference, a story posted on Politico aimed at bringing up the next one the media would happily throw into the meat-grinder.  The story offered is that attorneys who represent Sarah Palin have been talking to states about the filing date deadlines.  To be honest, this could mean nearly anything, but the narrative being put forward suggests that Palin may be getting ready to jump in.  Maybe.  The problem is that I’ve lost all confidence in the media, and I don’t know what it means.  I’ve become a skeptic, not of Sarah Palin, but instead of all the media tidbits put in circulation each day.  To me, it’s no longer an issue for discussion:  Sarah Palin will announce a candidacy, or she will tell us she’s not running.  Either way, it’s not going to change my immediate future because I’ve decided to carry on as if she will run, and for a simple reason:  She’s the candidate I believe in, I know her record, and I know it compares favorably against any Republican already entered, or any whose names I’ve heard under discussion.

When I saw the Drudge Headline blaring: “Palin Time,” did my pulse quicken?  To borrow a phrase, “You betcha!” Once I saw it was a link to the same story I’d read from a link on Twitter two hours before, I resumed normal operation.  Every Palin-supporter I know is ready to roll.  Every person to whom I speak is hoping the day will come soon.  Until the day she announces her plans, I’m not going to waste many minutes in contemplation of that moment, and while like any of my friends, I’ll cheer when it comes, between this moment and that one, when I discover along with the rest of the world what her plans will be, I am going to continue to prepare for what will come after that moment.

The challenges of any political campaign are many, and while I savor the competition, I know the reality:  It will be a tough process, and it’s going to require all hands on deck, with as much devotion as we’ve ever poured into anything, and maybe a good bit more.  Like many of you, I made a trip to Walmart this morning, and I’ve handed out The Undefeated to potential allies already.  We’re going to need millions of them.  If Governor Palin decides to enter, as all of hope and believe she will, I intend to be already moving, already gaining ground, and already setting the stage for what I believe will be a pivotal campaign in American history.  The truth is that as much as this will be Sarah Palin’s fight, it will be our fight too, and a chance to save our country, maybe our last.  I refuse to entrust that future to cynicism or complacency or the simple folly that better, more able men will take my place.

It is now, if ever there had been a time in modern history when Edmund Bourke’s lament applied, “when bad men combine, the good must associate; else they will fall, one by one, an unpitied sacrifice in a contemptible struggle.”  You may know it better by the oft-used “all that is necessary for evil to triumph is that good men do nothing.”  What his actual words reveal is that he knew not only that good men must stand, but that they must stand as one, together.  Does this not describe our position more thoroughly than the more common interpretation of Burke’s words?  I submit to you that it does, and for us to prevail, we will need to live by its intent.

As I’ve said, I no longer put enough stock in anything the media tells us to read any tea leaves from Politico’s story.  I also know that if it’s true, and its implications are perfectly correct, it doesn’t change anything in my immediate plans.  I’ll work with O4P and C4P and other Palin supporters wherever I find them, however I can.  I’ll still be standing on my little soapbox talking to any who will listen.  I’ll continue to work among and within my family, my friends, and my community as best as I can.  The Tweet that went out from @PeterHambyCNN sums up my view:

the line out of Palin-world: the race is still “wide open”

Indeed, the race certainly remains wide open, and I will pursue it as such.

